Edinburgh, I love you.

It was this day four years ago that I packed my bags and headed for the bonnie shores of Scotland. Frightened and nervous, I never thought that four years later I would be calling Edinburgh ‘home’. I got off to a rocky start, begging my mum to let me transfer from the University of Edinburgh to Queen’s University in Belfast during my Christmas break. Knowing, as mother’s always do, what’s right for her child, my mum sent me back to Edinburgh in the New Year and I’ve never looked back. The friends I’ve made, loves I’ve had, people I’ve met and everything that I got up to made Edinburgh my first real home away from home. But the city itself and it’s some 500,000 inhabitants have also taught me so much (not all of them, I’m not that friendly), and for this reason Edinburgh will always be my favourite place in the world. And as I leave my heart there for a short while as I conquer other terrain, I know that someday I will settle there again.

Edinburgh, it’s been a blast. Thanks for adopting me for four incredible years; you’re some pup.

The Soundtrack to your life:

When I initially decided to study in Edinburgh I made a list of all the Scottish things that I was excited to encounter (Yes, I like lists.) One of these things was getting to hear bagpipes being played the odd time. Little did I know that ‘the odd time’ would be every waking moment of my life in Edinburgh. Soon I began to hate the squall of this instrument that resembled an upside-down sheep, and the guy who plays outside Princes Street Mall fast became my arch enemy. However, as the years wore on, so wore away my hatred towards the beloved bagpipes. Have you ever wanted to have a soundtrack to your life, like they have in films? Well, if you live in Edinburgh then you can!! Sure it might be ‘Auld Lang Syne’ or ‘Danny Boy’, and you won’t even be able to tell if it’s in the right key, but these bagpipers and their sweet tune will soon become music to your ears, and you’ll be strutting down Princes Street like your Julia Roberts on Hollywood Boulevard. Minus the mini dress; Edinburgh is baltic.

bagpipes-face

Castles doesn’t always look like they do in Disney Films:

Edinburgh Castle is a sight to behold. Standing not so tall, but very proud atop an extinct volcano. This historic fortress dates back to the 12th Century; dominating the Edinburgh skyline and scaring the sh*t out of everyone at 1pm everyday when they let off the canon! The castle looks more like a really large stately home, or possibly a 1930’s prison, but to us it is Scotland’s answer to the Taj Mahal.

IMG_9096
Edinburgh Castle © Caoilfhionn Rose

The Art of Appreciation:

Even four years on I was walking around Edinburgh gazing in awe and wonder and thinking, ‘How did I not notice this before?’, about the most obvious things. Edinburgh’s secret closes, creepy dungeons, winding streets and extraordinary architecture are what make the city so unique. Where else in the world would you find a city that is built on top of itself? Edinburgh will teach even the most oblivious to appreciate their surroundings. There’s always something eye-catching to see in Scotland’s capital. Something to take a photograph of, or even just stop to admire. Moral of this story; always add 10 minutes onto your journey as this beautiful city will definitely have you stopping in your tracks.

IMG_9093
View of Princes Street Gardens from The Mound. © Caoilfhionn Rose

Men in Kilts are SO hot:

I don’t need to explain this. Just look below. He’s not Scottish, but the kilt is. Point proven. God have mercy.

tumblr_mdjzpgAuJR1r2gme7o1_500

It’s not what you look at that matters, it’s what you see:

I have never been in a city that had so many different, picturesque views. From the top of Calton Hill, to the Castle and the top of Scots Monument, from rooftop restaurants and then all the way out to the countryside of Pentland Hills, Edinburgh is beautiful from every angle, and you’re guaranteed to see something different from every one. After everywhere that I have travelled in the world and all the amazing sights I’ve seen, I’ve come to learn after living in Edinburgh that sometimes the most breathtaking sights to see are on your very own doorstep.

10695291_851687918176989_705704029_n
Calton Hill. © Caoilfhionn Rose
10617378_851687901510324_1787465905_n
Stockbridge and beyond from the Castle. © Caoilfhionn Rose
IMG_8003
A teeny, tiny Charlotte and Isabelle. © Caoilfhionn Rose

Sausages aren’t just the normal sausage shape:

In Scotland they have square sausage as well as link sausages. I’m still bewildered by this, but now I know that sausages can come in all different shapes and sizes. And tastes… gross tastes. (You probably don’t want to see a picture of this)

Escapism:

The real beauty of Edinburgh lye’s in it’s location. Surrounded by rolling green hills, babbling rivers and winding canals on one side, and sandy beaches on the other, Edinburgh resembles a fantasy land of escapism. If you ever want to be alone to think, or you just want to get away from your flatmates who are doing your head in, Edinburgh has an endless choice of nooks and crannies for you to explore. Not surprisingly, these covert corners are also great places to hang out and have a bit of craic with your friends whenever you are feeling sociable. My favourite being the Union Canal and Portobello Beach!

10544410_825990344080080_4615193696481457840_n
The Boat House, Harrison Park, Union Canal. © Caoilfhionn Rose
10410325_10154403067550408_3551679396902029831_n
Friends at Portobello Beach © Caoilfhionn Rose
10668161_851692848176496_1460361385_n
The Shore, Edinburgh. © Caoilfhionn Rose

 

Give people the time of day:

While working in bars, or even just walking home in the evening, I came in to contact with so many interesting people. Once I was stopped by a homeless man outside my house. Tired from a mammoth library stint and not wanting to be hassled I tried to avoid him, but he was persistent. I ended up speaking to him for 45 minutes and bringing him some soup and tea. He told me stories about his life, where he’d travelled and some of his fondest memories. After telling me to Google his name I found out that he is a pretty big name in the ‘burgh, known for his noble efforts in trying to clean up the city through recycling, so as to make it a nicer place for it’s residents, many of whom would shun him at a glance. And then there was wee George who would stand at our bar from noon to midnight sipping on vodka mixed with orange and playing Black Jack on his iPad, telling us the about his time at sea, his family, and bestowing words of wisdom and kindness to anyone who would listen.

Scottish people are the GREATEST: 

Scotland is most definitely the friendliest country in the world. They’re a happy, friendly, fun-loving, witty and foul-mouthed bunch and that’s why I love them! Even the posh Edinburgers.

It’s easy to fall in love: 

Just like I did, with the city that stole my heart.

10645000_851683678177413_5098183287819086523_n
Myself on Calton Hill © Caoilfhionn Rose

 

…Of all the cities in the world, Edinburgh is for me;
For no matter where I look, some lovely spot I see;
And for picturesque scenery unrivalled you do stand.
Therefore I pronounce you to be the Pride of Fair Scotland.
– from Beautiful Edinburgh by William McGonagall

Leave a comment